Hans Christian Andersen Award

Date: Tuesday April 20, 2010
Posted in: Children's Books

The International Board on Books for Young People has awarded the 2010 Hans Christian Andersen Award to David Almond of the UK.  The Andersen award is given out biannually to a living author  who’s complete works have made an  outstanding contribution to children’s literature.  The Andersen award is considered to be one of the most prestigious awards for children’s literature. The IBBY jury described Almonds writing as magic realism for children.  Almond received the Carnegie medal for Skellig, the authors first book for children, and the Michael L. Printz Award for his Young Adult novel, Kits Wilderness. You can read about the authors reaction to winning the award at the guardian.

Look for the prequel to Skellig, My Name is Mina, coming out in September 2010!

Check our catalog for books by David Almond.


RSS feed | Trackback URI

Very helpful. I love the way you write. Do you currently have an RSS feed?

Comment by HCG Diet on June 10th, 2010 @ 9:58 pm

I am glad you are enjoying the blog. Thank you for your comments. I hope start some new posts soon.

Comment by Marcy on July 8th, 2010 @ 11:14 am

Line and paragraph breaks automatic, e-mail address never displayed, HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>