ABI Inform

ABI/Inform

For business and company research. National and international business and management information.  Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, exclusive access to key business and economics periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, and major news sources.

America' s News

America’s News

Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Includes the New Haven Register (1971-present) and Hamden Journal (2000-2008).

Ancestry

Ancestry Library

(Library Access Only)
Information on people and places described in over 25,000 family and local histories. Includes US Federal Census Records from 1790-1930.

Credit Report

Annual Credit Report

You are entitled to a free credit report once every 12 months. Get your report to be sure that your credit rating is based on accurate information. Don’t be fooled by look-alikes. Lots of sites promise credit reports for free. AnnualCreditReport.com is the only official site explicitly directed by Federal law to provide them.

A to Z Databases

AtoZdatabases

Premier Reference and Marketing Database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents.  Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!

Biography Reference Bank

Biography Reference Bank

Contains biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and work

Biographt Reference Center

Biography Reference Center

Containing many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines, this database offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies.

Book Page

BookPage

Contains book reviews, author interviews and other information about books. You can find free print copies of the monthly magazine at the Miller Library Borrower Services Desk.

Center for Disease Control

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Need to know what countries to stay away from because of the latest Ebola, cholera, or SARS outbreak? Would you like to avoid the latest gastrointestinal virus found on your favorite cruise ship? Check out the Travelers’ Health report. You can read the latest disease news in the weekly Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, or relax with the monthly Emerging Infectious Diseases journal.

Code Academy

Codecademy

A great place to learn the fundamental of programming language and syntax. Includes self-paced tutorials for popular coding languages such as Java, Ruby, Python, and more!

CT Judicial Branch

Connecticut Judicial Branch

This site provides a wealth of information. Look up pending or active court cases, find out what jury duty entails, or find answer to frequently asked legal questions.

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports

Provides ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice for cars, electronics, appliances, and more. The database also provides a health section and money guide.

CT Department of Labor

 CT Department of Labor – Tips for Job Seekers

Busy job hunters can find information here about writing resumes, drafting cover letters and preparing for job interviews and career fairs.

CT Law Help

CTLawHelp

Connecticut’s Legal Aid programs created this for people with very low income to find help for their legal problems.

Post Chronicle

CT Post-Chronicle

Covering Hamden and North Haven

CT Hires

CTHires

Cyndi’s List

Cyndi’s List

A helpful list of genealogy resources on the Internet.

Educore

EduCore

Dedicated to providing educators with easy access to high-quality professional development resources aligned to the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). You can also find information on the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Entrepreneur 

Entrepreneur 

Entrepreneur is for businesses owners, offering inspiration and information on marketing, management, technology, the latest trends and strategies. Topics include marketing, management, technological advances, and more, offering a wealth of information about multiple aspects of business operations

ERIC

Find education literature and information about practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making and research in this online digital library.

Explorera Educators Edition

Explora Educator’s Edition

Collection provides focus on education by providing full text for over 500 high-quality education journals. Offers access to lesson plans, students tools, curriculum standards and links to sites valuable for teachers.

Federal Trade Commission 

Federal Trade Commission

Offers a wealth of information on topics such as credit and other consumer issues, as well as advice on avoiding scams and rip-offs. You may also file a consumer complaint about a particular business or organization from the web site

Find a Lawyer in CT

World Wide WebFind a Lawyer in CT

Locate a lawyer by area of specialization, location, language, etc. (compiled by the CT Bar Association).

GCF Learn Free

World Wide WebGCF Learn Free

GCF Learn Free is a program funded by the Goodwill Community Foundation and Goodwill Industries. It is a website of primarily self-paced and guided tutorials focused on the subjects of Technology, Job Training, Reading and Math. Particularly useful for beginners to Microsoft Office, the internet and technology in general.

Greenfile

GreenFILE

This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.

Hamden Journal

Hamden Journal

Covers January 2015-present

 

Health Finder

Healthfinder

This award-winning site, developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, has been recognized as a key resource for finding the best government and nonprofit health and human services information on the Internet.

Heitage Quest

Heritage Quest Online

Research resource for family history and American culture includes U.S. federal census records and the UMI Genealogy and Local History collection.

History Reference Center

History Reference Center

Features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books

Indeed

Indeed   

A job search engine with powerful search tools to help jobseekers find exactly the kinds of jobs they are looking for.

Job Now

Job Now

Provides live, interactive help combined with online resources to help you get a job. Features online job coaches and a resume lab, as well as help with career-enhancing skills for through test preparation, computer literacy help, and basic software assistance.

Khan Academy

World Wide WebKhan Academy

Offers practice exercises and instructional videos for personalized learning. Includes test prep, academic subject help, computer programming, college and career help, and more.

Legal Reference Center

Legal Information Reference Center

Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis

Library Reads

Library Reads

The top 10 books published this month that librarians across the country love.

LinkedIn

Mango Languages

Mango Languages 

A unique way to learn a foreign language at your own pace, using a comprehensive teaching approach that actively engages audio and visual cues to assist in language retention. iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad users can also download the Mango Languages app from the iTunes store. Android users can get the app from the Google Play store.

MasterFILE

MasterFILE

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.

Medline

Medline Plus

Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.

nih

National Institutes for Health: Health Information

Topic database providing information on many diseases, conditions, symptoms, and procedures.

Nonfiction Core Collection

Nonfiction Core Collection 

Developed by collection development specialists, this database provides titles of the most highly-recommended reference and non-fiction books for adults.

Novelist

NoveList Plus

Search among hundreds of thousands of popular fiction and readable nonfiction titles, and also retrieve author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and more.

NYT Learning Network

NYT Learning Network

Offers fresh classroom resources — from lesson plans and writing prompts to news quizzes, student contests and more — all based on the articles, essays, images, videos and graphics published on NYTimes.com.

Occupational Outlook

Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) – Bureau of Labor Statistics

The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.

Professional Development Collection

Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.

Referencia Latina

Referencia Latina

This comprehensive Spanish-language database offers content from a variety of sources in a broad array of subject areas.

ResearchIT CT Newspapers

ResearchIT CT Newspapers

Newspapers available include The Christian Science Monitor, The Hartford Courant, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.

One Search

ResearchIT CT OneSearch

Search more than a dozen online databases from a single search box.

SAMHSA

SAMHSA

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services which aims to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America’s communities.

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center

A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text, science-oriented content.  Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.

Southern Connecticut Ancestry Network (SCAN)

Southern Connecticut Ancestry Network

SCAN is a genealogical society that is based in Hamden, CT.  The group’s members generally either live in, or have family roots in, New Haven County and/or the surrounding towns in south central Connecticut.

Teacher Refernce Center

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 peer-reviewed journals.

The Small Business Administration

The Small Business Administration

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) was created in 1953 as an independent agency of the federal government to aid, counsel, assist and protect the interests of small business concerns. The SBA helps Americans start, build and grow businesses. Through an extensive network of field offices and partnerships with public and private organizations, SBA delivers its services to people throughout the United States, Puerto Rico, the U. S. Virgin Islands and Guam.

Business Information Portal

The State of Connecticut Department of Revenue Services, Business Information Portal

This site connects you with information about registering your business, information having to do with the daily operation and record keeping of your business, as well as information on when to file returns, electronic mandatory requirements and common filing misconceptions by tax types. It also provides important links to related agencies and other resources.

USA Gov

USA.gov

The official web portal of the United States federal government, s designed to improve the public’s interaction with the U.S. government by quickly directing website visitors to the services or information they are seeking. Popular topic include Jobs & Unemploment, Laws and Legal Issues , Small Business, Money and Consumer Issues, and Education.